top of page

The Grief Experience: Grief in 7 Stages

DR. ESSLIN TERRIGHENA defines grief and identifies seven stages we may go through after experiencing a loss. This is an extension of the original 5-stage Kuebler-Ross model of grief.

Swiss-American psychiatrist Elizabeth Kubler-Ross originally identified five stages of grief that we go through: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. She took these from her work with terminally ill patients, and found them to also apply to other types of grief. More recently, this model has been expanded to include two additional stages: shock, and integration.

Read the full article here.

If you have experienced loss and would like some guidance through the grieving process, please book a psychotherapy consultation with psychologist Dr. Esslin Terrighena, please call (852) 2521 4668 or email

29 views0 comments
bottom of page